Rebels fall in tourney final
October 17, 2019


CONRAD - Gladbrook-Reinbeck junior Saari Kuehl eclipsed 1,000 kills for her career as the Rebels reached the finals of the BCLUW Volleyball Tournament on Saturday.

Class 1A No. 15 Gladbrook-Reinbeck defeated No. 13 BCLUW in the semifinals, 25-22, 25-17, as Kuehl collected her milestone kill. The Rebels then fell to 3A No. 6 New Hampton in the title match, 25-20, 25-14.

G-R went 2-1 in pool play, defeating Collins-Maxwell and West Marshall but losing to New Hampton.

BCLUW went undefeated in pool play, beating Baxter, East Marshall and North Tama, before bowing to G-R in the semifinals. Madison Ubben led the Comets with 30 digs while posting 19 kills. Kennedy Williams led with 26 kills and also totaled 29 digs. Allison Engle recorded 48 assists to go with her 15 digs.

Class 1A No. 4 North Tama finished 2-1 in pool play, beating Baxter and East Marshall but falling in straight sets to BCLUW. The Redhawks fell to New Hampton in the bracketed semifinals.

In Pool B, West Marshall finished 1-2 in pool play losing to New Hampton and G-R but defeating Collins-Maxwell.

West Marshall won the consolation bracket by defeating East Marshall and Baxter.

In Pool A, East Marshall went 0-3 with losses to Baxter, North Tama and BCLUW.

Leading East Marshall was Clare Veren, who totaled 18 kills while Zoeie Fontanini totaled 19 digs. Noelia Aguilera led the team with 19 assists to go with her 13 digs.

BCLUW Comet Invite At Conrad

Pool A

BCLUW def. Baxter 21-14, 21-17, 15-6

BCLUW def. North Tama 21-15, 21-17

BCLUW def. East Marshall 21-10, 21-8.

North Tama def. Baxter 21-12, 21-4

North Tama def. East Marshall 21-13, 21-12

Baxter def. East Marshall 21-14, 21-18

Pool B

New Hampton def. Collins-Maxwell 21-8, 21-6

New Hampton def. Gladbrook-Reinbeck 21-15, 21-17

New Hampton def. West Marshall 21-13, 21-7

Gladbrook-Reinbeck def. Collins-Maxwell 21-7, 21-17

Gladbrook-Reinbeck def. West Marshall 21-13, 21-17

West Marshall def. Collins-Maxwell 21-17, 21-9

Consolation Bracket


Baxter def. Collins-Maxwell 21-16, 9-21, 15-6

West Marshall def. East Marshall 21-11, 21-15


West Marshall def. Baxter 21-15, 21-17

Championship Bracket


Gladbrook-Reinbeck def. BCLUW 25-22, 25-17

New Hampton def. North Tama 25-21, 25-18


New Hampton def. Gladbrook-Reinbeck 25-20, 25-14


Regular Size Reinbeck Courier